top of page

The Library Is A Privilege

The Library serves a different purpose in every patrons life. A cozy reading space, a research facility, a place to learn how to use the latest technology! For FSCPL Campaign Manger, Erika Anderson, the library was a sacred place where she was encouraged to read and learn in a way that still inspires her today.


"Growing up my mom would take my sister and I to the Library to participate in Summer Reading. As kids, we were only allowed to watch TV on Friday and Saturday nights, so reading was part of our daily routine. Going into the small libraries of my central valley community was always fun. I enjoyed watching the people, talking with Librarians, and reading the last page of any book prior to checking it out (yes this is weird, and I still do it).



My favorite Library was the one at my K-12 school which served as half public / half charter school. The Library was amazing and the Librarians, extra special. They truly were my friends. At this school, students participated in the Accelerated Reader program which requires students to test into a certain reading level, read books within that range, and each book is worth points. Within a semester, students are supposed to read a certain amount of points, and upon completing a book students would take a test to receive their points. At the end of the year, students are rewarded with a party with their friends. During this time, my reading level was much higher than my age level, meaning I would need permission slips to read many books I wanted to. The Librarians started to let me not get these signed, so that I could just read whatever I wanted.



They would walk the shelves with me, picking out five books at a time and putting them in a safe place for me, so that I could just pick them up when I was ready. I always finished the semester with extra reading points, and would negotiate to give my extra to friends who did not read enough to attend the end of the year party.



The Librarians, the summer reading programs, and all the time as a child spent with my head in a book, has shaped the way I think and learn still today. Still to this day, I will be in the midst of reading a book and be struck with pride, as to how lucky I am, that I have the ability to even read; that I can go to a place like the Library and check out a book for free. Reading is a treasure and our Libraries are such important spaces which we must continue to nurture and support."





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page