top of page

The library: community impact

If walk into a Santa Cruz Public Library at any point during the day, you will see a variety resources being utilized. You will see individuals reading quietly, families reading out-loud, people conducting genealogy research with the help of a volunteer, and many people utilizing the computers for job and housing searches. Our SCPL have a great impact on the community, and if you ask Librarian David Addison, this is what the libraries are for!



"The earliest introduction I can remember is when I was in middle school. I rode my bike as a 12 year old to our neighborhood library, about 1.5 miles away from my house. I discovered science fiction and fantasy books and couldn't get enough. Not long after, I discovered Stephen King. My first book by him was Christine. I stayed up way too late one night reading as a 12 year old and scared myself with King's novel!


After 19 years of working at SCPL, I have seen the importance and impact every day in my work. Our community shows us a lot of love and appreciation not only at the ballot box but with their level of engagement and participation. We are helping people access and navigate information to meet their needs. We are a trusted, friendly, welcoming place.


The library stands for equality, inclusion, access to information, personal betterment and knowledge. We provide information without bias or judgement. We provide information for all, regardless of income or political persuasion. We help curate information for anyone who walks in our doors or who accesses our services virtually. The library promotes lifelong learning and a welcoming place for all.



The library also provides a safe and welcoming space for everything from reading for pleasure, to serious research, to family and adult programs, school class visits and help with technology. We strive to provide the best access to information both in print and digitally. We really provide a community center for learning in its many forms.


I see the library positively impact our community every day. I see happy children leaving the library after story-time and crafts. I have seen and been thanked from many many patrons after helping them with their research needs whether it be legal, health, business or technology. We teach school aged children how to use the library so they can find help with their homework or find a good book. We help people everyday with so much at the library which results in a very high level of support from our community in Santa Cruz County. Our many educational, social and cultural programs throughout the library system have a great impact on our community.


Who doesn't love libraries and librarians? Moving into the future, we will retain our core values and continue expanding our offerings as a community center, technology center, learning center, a social and cultural meeting place. "

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page