top of page

The library: A Miniature University


While we may know of all the resources the library offers, from books and computers to special workshops and community programs, some might forget about the people who make it all possible! Alene Smith recognizes and appreciates the supportive library staff and shares with us her love for the library.



"As a proud Santa Cruz resident since 1969, I started to come to the Downtown library more frequently in the last ten years. I have enjoyed the Munching With Mozart program and the Librarians are great public servants.


I am interested in scholarly books about how computers and technology are dehumanizing people and how people are addicted to technology, video games, and cell phones. The librarians find my curiosity interesting! They support me by going on the Internet, as I do not have nor use a computer. They print out materials and are always friendly and helpful. Librarians also locate phone numbers and articles of different nonprofits that I hear about on KAZU NPR.


I became warmly acquainted with Meg and Fred, who have since retired. Their willingness to help me with my interests will be fondly remembered. Arturo Villasenor, a gentleman's gentleman, has downloaded information and articles to continue my visits at the downtown branch. The library is a miniature University. I appreciate the space and all the various DVDS and books that I check out."




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page